Dinosaur Jr Fan Community

Martin + Me

Martin + Me

J Mascis - Guitar & Vocals
Kurt Fedora - Guitar on 13
Photography By – Phillip Reichenheim (PVirus)

Track Listing

  1. Thumb
  2. So What Else is New
  3. Get Me
  4. Blowin It
  5. Repulsion
  6. Goin Home
  7. The Boy with the Thorn in His Side  (The Smiths)
  8. Not You Again
  9. On the Run  (Greg Sage)
  10. Keeblin
  11. Flying Cloud
  12. Anticipation (Carly Simon)
  13. Drawerings 
  14. Every Mother’s Son (Lynyrd Skynyrd)

with Kurt Fedora


Martin + Me, the first solo album from Dinosaur Jr. leader J Mascis, was recorded on his acoustic tour in the fall of 1995. Mascis ran through a number of Dinosaur songs, as well as a handful of covers (the Smiths’ “The Boy With the Thorn in His Side,” the Wipers’ “On the Run,” Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Every Mother’s Son,” Carly Simon’s “Anticipation”). On the surface, it would appear that Martin + Me is simply a curiosity for dedicated Dinosaur fans, but that isn’t the case. Performed without the loud guitars and winding solos that dominate Dinosaur’s records, the songs are a revelation — Mascis’ songs do have their weaknesses, primarily lyrical, but they work very well stripped down to their essentials. He also has chosen a strong set list, featuring some of his best songs — including “Thumb,” “Get Me,” “Keeblin,” “Blowin’ It,” and “Repulsion” — and his covers are surprisingly enjoyable. For dedicated fans, it is refreshing to hear Mascis in such a spare setting, but Martin + Me has enough charm to appeal to even casual Dinosaur fans. – Stephen Thomas Erlewine at AllMusic

No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: